Reciprocal texts: anti-songs

ENWhy on Earth is a tap flying here instead of my usual airship? Because it’s the reverse of an airship !

It’s fun to try to revert a text’s words, to take their antonyms. Some words do not represent an action, its result or a quality, and thus cannot be reversed directly.
So what is the reverse of a guitar? Of an airship?

Maybe we can try to recursively replace those words by their definitions, until we can reverse it?
An airship is an air vehicle, so a mobile container of people, inside a fluid around the earth, so a mobile container of living solids in a fluid around earth.
We can try to reverse it as a still lifeless liquid pouring thing, over a solid, in the air, which might be a tap!

We’ll also need to define if we want to reverse everything or not the small linking words…
By the way, I’m talking about reciprocal texts in the title, and not opposite texts.
Indeed, mathematically speaking, the opposite of a thing is “minus this thing” while its reciprocal is “one thingth” : the opposote of 10 is -10, while the reciprocal of 10 is 1/10 (one tenth).
Likewise, the opposite of 0 is 0, its reciprocal being the infinity, but the opposite of + infinity is – infinity… As “everything”‘s antonym is “nothing”, we’re talking about reciprocals here (multiplicative inverses). It might be useful when we try to reverse numbers in the texts.

This process will be very interesting to automatise, thanks to online dictionaries for instance.
In the meantime, I manually reversed two songs. It really makes them sound like post-modern, obscure poems.

A French one can be found here.

And an English-language song (whose original title can be found below – no spoilers!):

Deny me! Deny me ! Deny me!

Twice before one twelfth
but I’m ignorin’ the early hiding
out of my rough incompletely accompanied
how I love to keep
the morning on someone else’s
spring calms
inhalin’ inside the closing
as I ignore the whole open destruction
but it prevents me from being so
elated to ignore the delight
there’s not a body in here
everybody to ignore my demand

Deny me! Deny me! Deny me!
A woman before noon
won’t no one hinder me
from escaping the lights here
Deny me! Deny me! Deny me!
A woman before noon
leave me around the brightness
to the binding of the night

Still original commoners
lose the beginning of the dullness restraint
without a misfortune to loose
it’s so similar to
the remoteness I’m leaving from
Invigorated by invisible or inaudible seriousness
I close the shutting
but I ignore the day
and there’s everything here to ignore
everyone out of blindness
there’s not a body in here
everybody to ignore my demand

Deny me! Deny me! Deny me!
A woman before noon
won’t no one hinder me
from escaping the lights here
Deny me! Deny me! Deny me!
A woman before noon
leave me around the brightness
to the binding of the night

Did you recognise Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! by ABBA?

2 thoughts on “Reciprocal texts: anti-songs

  1. Wow ! that’s some complex poetry !
    Trying to figure out the “original” lyrics is really fun ! ^^
    So … I did the same for this song (guess who’s the singer !) :

    I’m a little rested of going there
    Created by none of my mature braveries
    And if you can stay
    I hate that you should much stay
    Altho your absence never rush there
    Or it will keep me together

    These scars will really injure
    That comfort is just much imaginary
    There’s much less that (a little square of wibbly wobbly timey wimey…stuff) can draw

    Where you laughed I’d wet some of your smiles
    Where you’d whisper I’d hug some of your braveries
    Or I drop your leg through some of these … milliseconds …. Ok I give up ! … Please Ophelia !! can you develop an automated reverse text script ? that’d be great !!

Leave a Reply

